top of page

About Our Party

The Republican Party in the Virgin Islands is the Republican National Committee state party for the territory of the United States Virgin Islands.

Chairman Gordon Ackley

Gordon Ackley was elected chairman in 2020 and re-elected in 2022. Before his election as chairman, he was a member of the Republican State Committee and 2016 nominee for Congress. 


Through his many years in business, Ackley has created hundreds of jobs not just on St. Thomas, where he lives, but across the Virgin Islands. Ackley attended Antilles School and enlisted in the U.S. Air Force, serving from 1973 until 1977.

Republican National Committeeman  Johann (John) A. Clendenin

John Clendenin, a sixth-generation native of St. Croix, is the national committeeman for the Virgin Islands.


Having enlisted in the United States Marine Corps in 1971, he retired in 2009 as a lieutenant colonel.


Clendenin, who was chairman of the Virgin Islands delegation to the 2012 Republican National Convention, also served as Virgin Islands public service commissioner following a gubernatorial appointment to the regulatory agency in 2014.

Republican National Committeewoman 


Vice Chairman and Finance Chairman

April Newland

Executive Director

Dennis Lennox

Legal Counsel

Former Attorney General Terri Griffiths Esq.

Chairman Gordon Ackley
bottom of page